The Future of the project

I want to provide the complex solution for background job processing inside ASP.NET application without requirement to deploy additional Windows Services. I want this to keep things simple, especially for early stage of application development. At the same time, as an application developer, I want to be able to scale things later witout need complete rewrite of all source code.

Current state

The current state of project is the Development version. I could say that it is stable enough background job processing system, but it is my opinion only. To be able to say it, I should be assured by other users (including you :)).

There are also some features that prevents the project to go to production mode, and release the version 1.0:

• No polling for SQL Server (with MSMQ #85 or Service Broker #52).
  • Logging on job failed state transition #87.
  • The simple way to cancel created jobs #80.
  • Ability to retry jobs manually #55.

The absense of these features leads to incomplete background job lifecycle. All of them have workarounds, but they require more understanding, and they should be simpler and available out of the box.

Roadmap

• Full documentation for product and its API.
  • More tutorials and articles that describe the features and use cases.
  • Recurring jobs support to fully cover all background needs.
  • Support for other job storages, including Microsoft Azure Storage.
  • Make it easier to maintain jobs, even on large-scale systems.
  • Deliver the solution to the 90% of ASP.NET developers :slight_smile:
3 Likes

love the Roadmap :smile:

and i can say on my side that i am using Hangfire now for some Email sending and Video processing background jobs and it runs fine, of course there are some things need to be there as you mentioned above, but settin behind my keyboard and just talking while someone is doing the real work here is just shameful :frowning: i wish i could help more.