DisableConcurrentExecution and prevent queuing of new job instances while existing job is in progress

I am relatively new to Hangfire but already find it incredibly useful. I have however come up against an issue that I am not sure how to resolve…

I have a couple of recurrent jobs that import data from an external service and run once per minute. That service is throttled so sometimes the jobs run longer than a minute and when they do the next task is already queued up and ready to execute This then compounds so I end up with lots of the same job in the queue that are not required.

In my interfaces I have added the following 2 attributes on the methods in question:

[DisableConcurrentExecution(10)]
[AutomaticRetry(Attempts = 0, OnAttemptsExceeded = AttemptsExceededAction.Delete)]

If the previous job is still running when the next job is due to be executed it can be skipped until the next iteration but I am not sure how to achieve that?

I’m using Hangfire for recurring jobs as well and I have encountered the same thing. I know that there are extensibility points via the ‘server filters’ and there’s 2 main interfaces to tap into where you can alter the server / scheduler behavior (I think the other is called something like client filter).

In this case I don’t know if you could prevent it from scheduling / attempting to execute the scheduled job but I would imagine you could intercept the scheduling process or the processing pipeline and perform a check to see if there is another job of the same type running and if so, short-circuit and return a well-known result that indicate an outcome of ‘skipped/another instance running’ or something along those lines.

The one trick with building the ‘is another job running’ logic is that if the other job is dead node/not-responding type of deal you would need to account for whatever resiliency considerations would apply.